Flashback Friday

I have very recently been getting into Steampunk. I know I’m behind the times, but the Steampunk I was seeing was not a genre I was interested in. The outfits were reminiscent of a time when women had to conform to extremely physically restrictive ideal of fashion, labor was still very much a war, and those styles and areas of society represented were primarily white upper middle to aristocratic classes profiting off of Imperialism.

I realize there is more to the Steampunk community than these things (now), but it took a long time to get over the romanticizations of a pretty gross time period I was interpreting. What has really drawn me in now is the technology, and more recently, Victorian views of the future.

Now the Washington Post reported last week on Jean-Marc Cote’s view of the year 2000 from the turn of the last century. It is a wild ride unlike anything I have yet seen enter Steampunk, and I hope to see more things like it!

And while we’re talking about the future, don’t forget about just barely post Victorian ideas for women of the future, who had already been fighting for rights in Europe for centuries.

smashing-pumpkins-tonight-tonight-2012-remix
I know this is 1995, but it’s close enough!

Going to ride this seahorse into the sunset, now!

-J.M.

Leave a Reply

